Leave a comment

Symphony of the Redwoods Will Conclude Season with International Steinway Artist as Featured Soloist


Symphony of the Redwoods will present their season finale concerts on Saturday, April 9 at 8pm and Sunday, April 10 at 2pm in Cotton Auditorium in Fort Bragg. The program will include Beethoven’s Prometheus Overture, Haydn’s Symphony #103 in E Flat Major (the “Drum Roll” Symphony), and Brahms’ Piano Concerto #1 in D Minor, with pianist Natsuki Fukasawa as the featured soloist.

“It is a dream come true to perform this piece,” said Fukasawa. “I am making a big check mark on my bucket list.” Fukasawa became fluent in piano rudiments before she was able to read or write, thanks to her mother as her first instructor. “I believe my job as a performing artist is to bring life to the amazing music written on paper, so the audience can also fall in love with the piece,” she explained. “Music comes to life in live performances, and it is the best way to communicate this art form.”

Fukasawa is recognized as an International Steinway Artist, and has taught at California State University Sacramento, Saint Mary’s College of Moraga, and the University of the Pacific. She is currently in Hong Kong serving as an adjudicator for a music festival. “I have heard about 16,000 students in the past two weeks,” she said, “so on the weekends, I escape to go hiking.”

Winners of the Symphony’s “12 for 12” raffle will be announced at the season closing concert on Sunday, April 10. The first place winner will receive dinner for two at 12 local restaurants, and second place will be rewarded a three night stay at Point Cabrillo Light Station in Mendocino. Raffle tickets priced at $100 are still available. Contact symphony@mcn.org for more details.

See the Symphony of the Redwoods and Natsuki Fukasawa on Saturday, April 9 at 8pm, and Sunday, April 10 at 2pm. All concerts will be at Cotton Auditorium, 500 N. Harold Street, Fort Bragg. Tickets are $20, and attendees 18 and under are always free. For more information, please visit symphonyoftheredwoods.org and natsukifukasawa.com.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: